Scam-Emails.com
Where Moogu's come to LEARN!

Contents - List of Scams by Type and by profession.

 

Analysis of this letter             Rating... Top Notch Scam BEWARE
How not to fall for this scam
Dear Customer,

  Susquehanna Bank - Community Banks temporarily suspended your account.
  Reason: Billing failure.
  We require you to complete an account update so we can unlock your account.
 

  To start the update process click here.

  Once you have completed the update, we will send you an email notifying
  that your account is available again. After that you can access your account at
  any time.

  The information provided will be treated in confidence and stored in our secure database.
  If you fail to provide information about your account you'll discover that your
  account has been automatically deleted from our database.
 

How do I know this is a scam?
I do not have an account at this bank!
This email is one of Millions that go out that target emails in a region and the banks in that region.
If you click on the "Click Here" you will get a page that looks just like that of Point Bank.. but the address if you put your cursor on the "click here" you will see the following: www.everwin.net/cm.nettteller.com.login/authentication/Views/index.. which is NOT affiliated with the bank. You would then enter your normal bank information and password and someone out there would have access to your bank account. They could send out bogus checks and drain the account, get your Social Security number possibly, though that may not be ON the information the bank has on you.. on their website. Still this allows them to get more info on how to steal your identity or to transfer funds to themselves OUT of the country.
What is scary about this particular email is that it looks and SOUNDS authentic. It works the way an email from your bank SHOULD WORK, but the Hook is that the link is a Fraudulent link that goes to a Look-a-like page on another website.
This particular company shows up as being in Hong Kong with a website that is under construction.
Most likely it has been hijacked early on, and some programmer or other wise nefarious Chinese person is going to transfer your money to China with whom we have no extradition or co-operation on banking fraud.  www.everwin.net is the active company.. If you click on the link you find a Hong Kong Company.

     
  How do I avoid making this mistake?
VERY SIMPLE.. never EVER simply click on a link for your bank. MOST banks if not all including Paypal will tell you that they do not include links in their emails. Type the email into the browser bar yourself. Beyond that when you visit a site look at the Browser Bar and make sure that the address matches that of your bank, but look C-a-r-e-f-u-l-l-y they may have the name of the bank somewhere IN the address to fool you. Look at the first few letters..  http://www. this area is the address. com
If the address area does not include the EXACT domain name then it is a phony.. It may include what is called a subdomain.. which is valid.. for example.. I will use a fictitious bank name.. Jimsbankandtrust.com
If you are on Jim's Bank and Trust you might see this  http://www.signon.jimsbankandtrust.com that is most likely legitimate and part of the bank.. jimsbankandtrust.com is what HAS to be before the .com or the .net or .org for the address to go to that website.
If for instance you get this.. http://www.signon.abcvideononsense.com/jimsbankandtrust.html
You are not at Jim's Bank and Trust you are at ABC Video Nonsense.. Or any other name of a website you could imagine.. Also watch that the domain ending.. the Dot Com, Net, or Org is not something else like a country domain.. YOU HAVE TO KNOW YOUR BANKS ADDRESS .. and any deviation may be an attempt by someone to Phish you. Watch for single letter changes or dyslexic like changes of letters that are meant to LOOK like the real address.
In the end... the absolute safest way to check your account is to type the domain in yourself and they save it to favorites if it is a difficult name.. BE CAREFUL to check the address each time. I imagine it is possible to get a Browser Tool Bar Virus that could kidnap your information.. but if that happens you already have bigger problems.
If you get a notice from your bank, most likely it will ask you to check your messages on your account. All correspondence from your bank will be ON your account, as it will with Paypal.com. Should you get a notice of a charge, or a hold on your account, do NOT click on the link on the notice. Go directly to your  bank account and check it. You will most likely find that there is no hold, charge and no message from the bank. By not sending you email about your account banks make it possible for you to KNOW that an email with a link in it is a scam. "IF IN DOUBT, go directly to your Account.. "